I have had the good fortune to visit the Library of Congress several times. During the ALA conference this summer, I had an opportunity to attend a presentation by Elizabeth Ridgway of the Library Outreach Department. As I was sitting there, listening to Ms. Ridgway talk about many of the programs available to teachers and the public I wondered how many people are aware of the information and resources which is available through our nation’s library. Also during my visit I saw many other exhibits, which are normally only available at the Library of Congress including the text of the Declaration of Independence which appeared in a Philadelphia newspaper in 1776. 

Normally, the only way to see these types of treasures is to visit Washington DC. Not anymore, or at least for 60 lucky communities in the midwest and south over the next year. Thanks to a $1 million gift by Abby and Emily Rapoport, a specially outfitted semi truck containing many facsimiles of library artifacts and information about the library’s resources will be travelling to selected communities . Information about the tour can be found at http://www.loc.gov/gateway/